Tallahassee Update

Rep. Rick Kriseman (D-53) is an attorney with Saunders & Walker PA
Mikey, age 14, and his friend decided they wanted to go buy a Slurpee at the local convenience store. After telling his mom where he’s going, Mikey and his friend grabbed their bikes and headed off down the street to the local convenience store. When they got back home, Mikey’s mom was waiting at the front door for him. She was not happy. Mikey looked confused, unsure of why his mother was mad at him.
Then, Mikey’s mom reminded him of the law in the State of Florida, specifically Florida Statute 316.2065 3(d), which states that
“A bicycle rider or passenger who is under 16 years of age must wear a bicycle helmet that is properly fitted and is fastened securely upon the passenger’s head by a strap, and that meets the standards of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI Z 90.4 Bicycle Helmet Standards), the standards of the Snell Memorial Foundation (1984 Standard for Protective Headgear for Use in Bicycling), or any other nationally recognized standards for bicycle helmets adopted by the department. As used in this subsection, the term “passenger” includes a child who is riding in a trailer or semitrailer attached to a bicycle.”
Mikey’s mom was mad at him because neither he nor his friend wore their helmets when they rode their bikes to the store.
If HB169/SB68 passes the legislature this year, Mikey will also have to wear a helmet if he goes horseback riding. Under HB 169, any person under the age of 16 must wear a helmet when riding a horse on public lands unless they are competing or performing during a show or an event, or they are riding the horse on private property or engaged in an agricultural related activity. This bill further states that anyone renting a horse to be ridden by a person under the age of 16 must either provide the underage person with a helmet or verify that the underage person has their own helmet.
Therefore, if this bill passes and Mikey and his mom ever go horseback riding, he will have to wear a helmet before he is allowed out of the stables on the horse.
It is the hope of the sponsor that passage of this bill will prevent future head injuries from occurring.
Unfortunately, in the State of Florida, the concern over head injuries seems to cease when a person turns 21, as Florida law DOES NOT require a person over the age of 21 to wear a helmet which complies with Federal Motorcycle Vehicle Safety Standard 218 promulgated by the United States Department of Transportation, provided they carry an insurance policy providing for at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries which might be incurred as a result of a crash while operating or riding on a motorcycle. So when Mikey turns 21, the state no longer seems to care about him.
Not a very good example for Mikey, is it? Sure hope he learns of the importance of wearing it now.